Lady Spartans are ECC Champions

Turpin hosted the 5th ECC championship race on Saturday. The Spartans are always a force in the ECC having won once (2014) and been runner up the other three years. This year they brought their dominant team to the race and beat a very strong Kings team to be ECC Champions.

Sam Bush finished 2nd with a time that would have won every ECC Championship race before Saturday. Coming in the top 10 and earning 1st Team ECC Honors with their fastest times of the season are: Jayne Maxwell (4th Place) , Lydia Bentley (5th place), Isabel Shim (8th), Maya Blaxall (9th), Jenny Middendorf (10th). 2014 ECC Champion and runner of the year, senior captain Olivia Connaughton, earned 2nd team ECC honors for taking 15th place overall with her fastest time of the season.

A special shout out and congratulations are due our Coach, Melissa Siemers the newly minted “Coach of the Year” for the ECC. Both her and Coach Carolyn Remmele really deserve it for teams performances, but more importantly for the teams improvement. With the talent Turpin had this year the team was destined to be good. If you look at the improvement in times over the course of the year that culminated in about 2/3rds of the team peaking at this race, it becomes clear that this coaching staff made a big difference.

The girls in the Open race fed off the success in the Varsity race. 2015 Open Girls Race Champion, Bridget Lloyd conquered the course once again this year with a repeat performance, 1st place in a time of 20:32. 2nd place Kirby Heltman, Seal Russell (3rd), Emma Hauserman (5th), Anna Polivka (6th), Anna Nolan (9th) and Aubrey Stoll (16th) rounded out our placing ladies. 39 girls raced for Turpin in the Open race and 26 ran faster on the same course as they did earlier in the season at the Milford Invitaitional.

Notable performances included a career best performance by senior captain Naomi Manaster running 22:12 and came in 20th. Also, freshman Olivia Snow ran an unbelievable 7 minutes faster than she had completed the course at the Milford Invitational. That is not a typo, Olivia was seven minutes faster!

Congratulations to Sam Bush and our Coach of the year, Melissa Siemers.  Also, congradulations to the entire 2016 ECC Champion Turpin Spartan girls cross country team.

Boys Cross Country Coach

Marshall Remmele
Marshall Remmele

Coach Marshall Remmele, a 2004 Turpin graduate, ran cross country and track at Auburn and graduated from Purdue in 2008. He and his wife Carolyn, also a 2004 Turpin graduate, reside in Anderson Township.

Download a boys schedule

Boys Cross Country Roster


Runner Year
Jack Bentley 9
Patrick Bentley 12
Sean Butkovich 10
Paul Carnevale 9
Derek Carter 11
Benjamin Chamberlin 12
Bryan Creelman 11
John Cronin 11
Alexandre Du Four 10
Max Egan 12
Connor Flora 9
Jack Fredette 12
daniel Friedman 11
Sean Gatje 12
Wyatt Goetz 9
Samuel Goldey 11
Peter Henkel 11
Zachary Johnson 9
Adam Kimble 11
Andrew Kissel 9
Anthony Massaro 12
Taylor McDaniel 12
James McIntire 9
Lance Miller 11
Jonathon Morton 10
Peter Morton 10
Jack Myers 11
paul pierce 9
Jack Polivka 12
Timothy Randall 10
Maxwell Roberts 9
Owen Rutter 12
Brady Salmons 10
Steven Salmons 10
Calvin Seeman 11
Ethan Shim 11
Nathaniel Sievers 11
Jack Sonnefeld 12
Jack Speelman 12
Zachary Teter 12
David Thomas 11
Andrew Thornton 11
Morgan Thurston 12
Kenneth Wagner 9
Grant Wendel 12
Dean Wickman 9
Robert Wyenandt 12

Cross Country Meets

No events